PORTLAND FIRE DEPARTMENT

** DISTRICT FIRE CHIEF **

In 1909, Chief Engineer Melville N. Eldridge and the Committee on Fire Department requested the approval of a plan of reorganization of the Board of Engineers, from the Mayor and Board of Aldermen. The plan was to replace the four-Call Assistant Engineers with a **Permanent Deputy Fire Chief on the peninsula (District One) and a Permanent District Fire Chief in the Deering section (District Two).**On October 4th, the Council approved the Chief and Committee's reorganization plan, which was also a recommendation in the Board of Fire Insurance Underwriter's 1907 report on Portland's fire protection.

On October 8th, the Council appointed Call 1st-Assistant Engineer Thomas Payne to Deputy Fire Chief, and Call 3rd-Assistant Engineer William R. Read to District Fire Chief, effective January 1, 1910.

On January 4, 1910, Deputy Chief Payne and District Chief Read were sworn in and on-duty. The new Deputy Chief responded to alarms on Chemical-1, in the eastern part of District One, and was assigned to Fire Headquarters, 380 Congress Street, at the corner of 133 Market Street (old Central Fire Station). The District Chief responded to alarms in the Deering section (**District Two**) aboard Hose 8, and was quartered at Engine 8's 1908 two-story brick Firehouse at 536 Deering Avenue, near Woodfords Corner. The District Chief's insignia of office was two crossed, gold trumpets (three crossed for Deputy Chief).

In 1911, a used wagon and pung were acquired, repaired, and a horse purchased for the District Chief in the Deering District. A Driver or Aide for the District Chief was assigned from Engine Co. 8.

In 1916, District Chief Read was assigned a new motorized Chandler-6 Roadster, replacing the buggy.

In 1939, District Chief Read was promoted to Deputy Chief, but remained at the District Two quarters. The new District Chief (Feeney) was assigned to cover District One at the Quarters of Engine Co. 4.

In 1943, after the death of Deputy Chief Read, District Chief Feeney was promoted to Deputy Chief, and remained at District One. The new District Chief (Larsen) was assigned again to District Two.

In 1946, a second District Chief was appointed to cover the reduction to an 84-hour week, and the new two-platoon system. In 1950, a third District Chief was appointed with the reduction to a 72-hour week. A District Chief was now assigned to District One to cover the off-duty shift of the Deputy Chief. In 1957, the District Chief's Driver/Aide position was eliminated. Also, District Two's Quarters were relocated to Engine Co. 11's new one-story, two-bay Firehouse at 474 Ocean Avenue, in East Deering. In 1958, A forth District Chief was appointed because of another reduction in hours, to a 63-hour week.

On July 30, 1963, the District Two Chief was relocated back to Engine Co. 8's quarters. Also that year, a fifth District Chief was appointed, as a 3rd-platoon was created with the reduction of a 56-hour week. District Two was assigned (3) District Chiefs, and District One the Deputy Chief and (2) District Chiefs.

In 1967, the 1908-firehouse of Engine Co. 8 closed. The Company and District Two relocated to a new one-story, two-bay North Deering fire station at 386 Allen Avenue, Allen's Corner. The District Chief in District Two was numbered as Car 5 and the District Chief in District One was numbered as Car 3.

In 1972, District Two was eliminated, and one District Chief was assigned citywide.

On July 16, 1978, the remaining (5) District Fire Chiefs were renamed Deputy Chiefs and the District Chief title eliminated per/order Chief of Department Joseph E. McDonough.

	**	District Fire Chief **	Capt.	Co.	Lieutenar	nt Appointed
1 st 19	10 -1939	William R. Read	(1903-A	ssistant E	Ingineer, 189	99-Capt., 1889-DFD)
2 nd 19	39-1943	Charles F. Feeney	1919 -	E-5	1912	(1912-P, 1910-Call)
	43-1948	Frederick C. Larsen	1922 -	E-8	1913	(1908-P, 1906-Call)
4th 19	46-1947	Thomas S. Murdock	1930 -	E-4	1927	(1922-P, 1919-Call)
	47-1953	Harry W. Marr	1937 -	E-5	1932	1927
	49-1959	Joseph N. Fortier	1946 -	E-2	1940	1929
7th C 19	50-1955	Carl P. Johnson	1943 -	E-8	1937	1927
	53-1956	Arthur J. Murdock	1937 -	R-1	1929	1923
9 th 19	55-1957	John C. Murray	1946 -	E-4	1942	1930
10 th 19	57-1968	William H. Johnson	1949 -	L-6	1946	1935
11th 19	57-1966	Haswell M. Bruns	1950 -	E-4	1943	1935
12th 19	58-1963	Charles E. Ross	1947 -	E-8	1937	1930
13 th 19	60-1963	Thomas H. Markley	1947 -	E-4	1946	1932
14th C 19	63-1968	Clement O. Dodd	1955 -	E-8	1950	1941
15th C 19	63-1965	Joseph R. Cremo	1956 -	E-5	1955	1950
16 th 19	63-1968	Woodbury H. Ridley	1958 -	L-5	1946	1941
	65-1972	Vernon R. Tucker	1963 -	L-4	1955	1947
	66-1973	Robert L. Callahan	1963 -	E-4	1957	1945
	68-1974	Stephen G. Hasson	1963 -	L-1	1962	1952
	68-1976	John J. Flynn	1963 -	E-7	1955	1950
	68-1973	Joseph F. Kane	1957 -	E-6	1953	1946
	72-1974	Robert A. O'Donnell		Γraining	1962	1952
	73-1976	James Nitsche		Γraining	1966	1956
24 th 19	73-1978	John R. Flaherty	1972 -	E-7	1969	1961
	74-1977	Joseph E. McDonough	1972 -	F.P.B.	1968	1961
41.	74-1976	Llewellyn C. Smith	1973 -	L-1	1967	1956
27 th 19	76-1978	John D. Mancini	1971 -	E-4	1968	1960
	77-1978	Carleton E. Winslow, Jr.		L-6	1972	1968
29 th 19	77-1978	James F. Robertson	1974 -	E-4	1972	1962
30 th 19	77-1978	Samuel M. Serappa	1972 -	E-8	1969	1961

July 16, 1978 - remaining (5) District Fire Chiefs (Flaherty, Mancini, Winslow, Robertson, and Serappa) were renamed as Deputy Fire Chiefs, and the District Fire Chief title eliminated, approved by the City Manager/City Council, and Chief of Department Joseph E. McDonough.